Monday, April 26, 2010


Chennai Super Kings (CSK), the only team to reach semi-finals in all the three editions of IPL have bagged the trophy this time by smashing Mumbai Indians by 22 runs in their home ground in the IPL-2010 finals. It was the most exciting match and the people were so curious to watch Sachin and Dhoni playing face to face in Mumbai. After winning the toss MS Dhoni decided to bat first. There was a huge disappointment for Chennai fans as haydos scored just 17 off 31 deliveries and 3 wickets fell in quick sessions. Mumbai was in the driver seat till the 13th over as Chennai scored only 68 for 3. After then Raina and Dhoni smashed the ball to boundaries irrespective of the bowlers. Raina’s 24 ball 50 accelerates the total to 168/5 at the end of 20 overs. MI dropped 2 catches of Raina by Zaheer and Fernando which proved costly later in the game. Chasing a target of 169 in home ground with huge batting lineup is not a tough call for MI. But both Bollinger and Ashwin bowled exceptionally well in power play, and later on Muralitharan and Jakati did not give any room to the Mumbai’s big hitting batsmen like Tendulkar, Tiwary and Duminy. When Chennai was almost to hold the cup, Pollard came in and hit 22 off Bollinger’s 18th over and created some smile in MI fans face by enlighten a chance for MI. But the way Dhoni set the fielding made the big man to return to the pavilion with the strike rate of 270. Finally the Mumbai Indians made 146/9 in 20 overs. Suresh Raina paves the way for Chennai and was adjudjed as the man of the match for his unbeaten 57, wicket of Harbhajan Singh and with the spectacular catch of Tiwary. Mumbai’s defeat broke many hearts in Mumbai who had the home advantage in the game. It is another feather to Dhoni’s captaincy hat and this is the first time Chennai holding the IPL trophy.

IPL 2010 Winner - Chennai Super Kings (Rs. 6 Crores)

IPL 2010 Runner – Mumbai Indians (Rs. 3 Crores)

IPL 2010 3rd place – Royal Challengers Bangalore (Rs. 1.75 Crores)

Fair Play Award of the tournament - Chennai Super Kings

Man of the Series - Sachin Tendulkar

Highest run scorer (Orange Cap) - Sachin Tendulkar (618 runs)

Highest Wicket Taker (Purple Cap) – Pragyan Ojha (21 wickets)

Karbon Kamaal Catch Award – Andrew Symonds (12 catches)

Best Under 23-Player Award – Saurabh Tiwary

No comments:

Post a Comment