Sunday, April 3, 2011


A 28 year thirst of Indians and Indian cricket team has come true at Mumbai on 2nd April 2011 after winning the final match of ICC world cup 2011 against Sri Lanka followed by a historic semifinal match win against arch rival Pakistan. India became the first host-nation to win the world cup with final played in the host country itself. Everyone has witnessed the tear of joy from the players after holding the world cup. "It's the ultimate thing and I'm experiencing it," said Indian great Sachin Tendulkar. "I couldn't have asked for anything better. It's the proudest moment of my life." Also he added "It's never too late as they say. Thanks to all my teammates. Without such fabulous performance and such consistency it would never have happened," he said, adding he wasn't too proud to shed a tear. "They were happy tears, so I wouldn't mind crying." When Sri Lanka set 275 as target, it looked like a chance for both the teams to win the trophy. But the quick succession of wickets of Sehwag and Sachin destroyed the hopes of all the people from India. But the young fires proved their capability and maturity by showing a tremendous performance with such a responsible innings at the end. "He carried the hopes of the nation for 21 years so it's time we carried him on our shoulders," young lad Virat Kohli said.

This is the 10th tournament of this edition and India is winning it after 28 years for the second time. Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni played a captain's knock of unbeaten 91 in the final and was adjudged man of the match. Yuvraj Singh was adjudged man of the series for his performance with both ball and bat. Dilshan was the leading scorer of this tournament with 500 runs. Shahid Afridi and Zaheer khan shared the first place in leading wicket takers. The 2011 Cricket World Cup winning team, India would be taking home prize money of US$ 3 million and a replica of the ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy that has been awarded since 1999.  The runner-up Sri Lanka would have US$ 1.5 million in its part. The total prize money on offer for the tournament for the teams placing from 1st to 8th is US$7.48 million. The remaining two semi-finalists will receive 0.75 million US$ each. The last four quarter-finalists will each receive 0.37 million US$.

There was no winning farewell to international cricket for Muttiah Muralitharan, the leading wicket taker and the only survivor from Sri Lanka's 1996 winning squad. The biggest upset of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 was the defeat of England by Ireland. Ireland's Kevin O'Brien made 100 in just 50 balls (and a total of 113 off 63 balls), the fastest World Cup Century. Also Ireland made the highest successful run chase in World Cup history beating Sri Lanka's 313 against Zimbabwe at New Plymouth in New Zealand in 1992. There were two hat-tricks in this tournament; one by Roach (WI) and another by Malinga (SL).

No comments:

Post a Comment