Thursday, August 30, 2012

ICC Test Team of the Year - 2012

Based on the performances by players between 4 August 2011 and 6 August 2012, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced its Test Team of the Year, as chosen by a selection panel headed by Clive Lloyd.
ICC Test Team of the Year:
Alastair Cook (Eng)
Hashim Amla (SA)
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
Jacques Kallis (SA)
Michael Clarke (Aus) - Captain
Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI)
Matt Prior (Eng )– wicketkeeper
Stuart Broad (Eng)
Saeed Ajmal (Pak)
Vernon Philander (SA)
Dale Steyn (SA)
12th Man – AB de Villiers (SA)
South Africa’s Dale Steyn has earned a place in the ICC Test Team of the Year for the fifth successive year. South Africa’s Hashim Amla and Jacques Kallis and Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara feature in the side for the third successive year while England’s Alastair Cook and Stuart Broad appear for the second year in a row.

Since this award’s inception in 2004, it is the first time that the ICC Test Team of the year doesn’t feature an Indian player. Below listed players were a part of this side in the previous years:

 Year                        Player
2004                Rahul Dravid
2005                Virender Sehwag, Anil Kumble*
2006                Rahul Dravid
2007                Zaheer Khan*
2008                Virender Sehwag
2009                Gautam Gambhir, Sachin Tendulkar, Mahendra Singh Dhoni
2010                Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Mahendra Singh Dhoni
2011                Sachin Tendulkar, Zaheer Khan*

*Selected as the 12th man

No comments:

Post a Comment