Monday, June 24, 2013

INDIA Lifts ICC Champions Trophy 2013

India once again proved everyone that they are the real champions after defeating England in ICC Champions Trophy final and retains the No 1 spot in One-Day International team list. India has won all five of their matches after a pair of warm-up victories in this Champions Trophy, thereby backing up their 2011 World Cup win with another ODI trophy. India has won six games in succession in the ICC Champions Trophy and also is the first team to win the final of the ICC Champions Trophy batting first.

This is the rightly balanced team with an average age of 26-27 and energetic lads like Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan and Dinesh Karthik who have show and n the world what they are capable of, it came to such a point that the international media covering the tournament labeled the Indians the best fielding unit in the world — something unheard of in the past. 

MS Dhoni (31), the oldest of current team is the first captain to win all three ICC trophies - ICC World Cup, ICC World Twenty20 and the ICC Champions Trophy. Shikhar Dhawan has established an Indian record for the highest run-aggregate with strike rate of 100-plus in an ICC Champions Trophy competition - 363 runs (ave.90.75) in five matches, including two hundreds and a fifty. He has also received his first Player of the series award in ODIs. Ravindra Jadeja is the leading wicket-taker with 12 wickets at 12.83 runs apiece. He is the MOM of the final and is his fourth MOM award against England is his seventh in ODIs.

1 comment:

  1. The World Cup of Champions names as Champions Trophy 2017 will be played this year in June. This is the 2nd biggest 50 Over competition after world cup.
    Champions Trophy 2017 Schedule, Time Table PDF