Tuesday, September 13, 2011


Based on the performance during period between 11 August 2010 and 3 August 2011, the LG ICC Awards 2011 were presented in association with FICA to players and officials.

England's Jonathan Trott has been named ICC Cricketer of the Year 2011. In 12 Tests, he scored 1,042 runs at an average of 65.12, including four centuries and three half-centuries. In addition, he played 24 ODIs, scoring 1,064 runs at an average of 48.36 with two centuries and nine 50s. Previous winners of the Cricketer of the Year award include Rahul Dravid (2004), Andrew Flintoff and Jacques Kallis (joint winners in 2005), Ricky Ponting (2006 and 2007), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (2008), Mitchell Johnson (2009) and Sachin Tendulkar (2010) for their splendid performance.

England's Cook won the Test Cricketer award after having a prolific year in the format. Cook played 12 Tests, and in 18 innings he scored 1302 runs at an average of 76.58, including six centuries and four half-centuries.

Kumar Sangakkara named the ODI Cricketer of the Year and also picked up the People's Choice Award. He scored 1049 runs at an average of 55.21 in 25 ODIs and had 26 catches and 10 stumpings as wicketkeeper and led Sri Lanka to the final of the 2011 World Cup.

Indian captain MS Dhoni  who was given the Spirit of Cricket accolade. 

West Indies legspinner Devendra Bishoo has been given the Emerging Player Award.,  He took 21 wickets at an average of 35.42 in five Tests and also picked up 19 wickets at 21.57 each in 11 ODIs.

Ryan ten Doeschate, the Netherlands allrounder, was named the ICC Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year for the third time in four years, and for the second year running.

New Zealand seamer Tim Southee won the award for Twenty20 International Performance of the Year, for his spell of 5 for 18 against Pakistan in Auckland. 

Pakistan umpire Aleem Dar has won the David Shepherd trophy for the Umpire of the Year for the third consecutive time. He beat competition from Steve Davis, Ian Gould and five-time winner Simon Taufel. 

Stafanie Taylor, the West Indies women's all rounder, was named the ICC Women's Cricketer of the Year.