Sunday, September 16, 2012


ICC annual awards function was held in Colombo on Saturday to honour the best cricketers of the world in 2011-2012. India's Virat Kohli named the ‘ODI Cricketer of the Year’ for his splendid performance compiling 1,733 runs at an outstanding average of 66.65, including eight centuries and six half-centuries in 31 ODIs with highest score of 183 against Pakistan in the Asia Cup.

Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara won three awards - the prestigious Cricketer of the Year, Test Cricketer of the Year and the People's Choice prize. He had received the People's Choice award last year as well. Sangakkara scored 1,444 runs at an average of 60.16, including five centuries and five half-centuries in 14 test matches. He also played 37 ODIs, scoring 1,457 runs at an average of 42.85, with three centuries and nine half-centuries. He has also effected 42 dismissals in the ODIs.

West Indies spinner Sunil Narine was named as the Emerging Cricketer of the Year. He took 12 Test wickets at an average 31.50 in three Tests, while in the 15 ODIs he played in he claimed 28 wickets at an average of 18.82. South Africa's Richard Levi won the ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year in recognition of his 51-ball 117 not out against New Zealand. India’s Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who was included in the team for a fifth year in succession, was named the captain of the team.

Previous winners of Cricketer of the Year award - Rahul Dravid (2004), Andrew Flintoff and Jacques Kallis (joint winners in 2005), Ricky Ponting (2006 and 2007), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (2008), Mitchell Johnson (2009), Sachin Tendulkar (2010) and Jonathan Trott (2011).

Cricketer of the Year: Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
Test Cricketer of the Year: Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
ODI Cricketer of the Year: Virat Kohli (Ind)
T20 International Performance of the Year: Richard Levi (RSA)
Spirit of Cricket Award: Daniel Vettori (NZ)
Emerging Cricketer of the Year: Sunil Narine (WI)
Umpire of the Year: Kumar Dhamasena (SL)
Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year: Stafanie Taylor (WI)
Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year: Sarah Taylor (Eng)
Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year: George Dockrell (Ire)

ICC one-day Team of the Year: Gautam Gambhir, Alastair Cook, Kumar Sangakkara, Virat Kohli, M.S. Dhoni (capt. & wk), Michael Clarke, Shahid Afridi, Morne Morkel, Steven Finn, Lasith Malinga and Saeed Ajmal. 12th man: Shane Watson.

No comments:

Post a Comment