Monday, July 1, 2013

ICC World Championship Events

The BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) was awarded the two events during the ICC (International Cricket Council) Annual Conference held in London on Saturday. The ICC finalized its global events from 2015 to 2023 during the conference and it has been confirmed that BCCI would host the World Twenty20 in 2016 and 50-over World Cup in 2023. Also India is hosting second edition of ICC World Test Championship in 2021. The inaugural ICC World Test Championship will be hosted by England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) in 2017.
ICC World Championship Events:

World Twenty20 (2014)  -  Bangladesh

World Twenty20 (2016)  -  BCCI (India)

ICC World Test Championship (2017)  -   ECB (England)

50-over World Cup (2019)  -   ECB (England)

World Twenty20 (2020)  -  CA  (Australia)

ICC World Test Championship (2021)  -   BCCI (India)

50-over World Cup (2023)  -   BCCI (India)

Also the ICC decided that full members have to play a minimum of 16 Tests over a four-year period to retain their Test status. To make sure that all ODIs played over the four-year cycle between ICC Cricket World Cups count towards a team's ranking, the ICC Board agreed to change the ODI rankings period from three years to four years. Afghanistan was confirmed as the 37th Associate Member of the ICC and Romania was accepted as an Affiliate Member.

No comments:

Post a Comment